One of the things I was doing throughout October and November was learning how to use Illustrator, mainly for lettering.

Prior to this I’d been doing all my lettering in Photoshop, which was obviously not good for vectorising the balloons and so on.

This was simply because I couldn’t install Illustrator on my computer without completely reinstalling Windows and every other piece of software too. Eventually, I just bit the bullet and went for it.

Needless to say, two days of Microsoft agony followed before I got it all to work properly.

But it was worth it. My process feels fluid and straightforward now, and the balloons, tails and captions have a clean look at any resolution. It took a while to figure out how to manipulate special effects fonts as wildly as I can pixels in Photoshop, but I got there in the end. Comic book lettering is a lot of fun.

 

TenthDoctor(YR2)#6_06
Lettering practice in Illustrator

 

I was lucky enough to get given a professional lettering task with which to hone my skills. This puts me in a good position to letter my own graphic novel professionally going forward. I want to try a few innovative techniques in The Hollw Man, but you have to walk before you can run.

Of course, the first five Hollow Man pages are still Photoshop lettered, so I’ll need to go back in and adjust that at some point. I’ll wait till closer to the end of the project, as I may change other things about the lettering and only want to go back through the pages once.

 

 

 

